Posts

The Fall of Grace ARC Review

Image
The Fall of Grace by Amy Fellner Dominy 4.5 Stars
I want to preface this by thanking Amy for giving this to me personally at the Tucson Festival of Books after I told her how much I've been dying to read it. She's such a kind human and listening to her speak was wonderful. Now onto the book. The Fall of Grace is about Grace and her life after her mom gets accused of pretty major investment fraud. The book bounces back and forth between right when she finds out and months after which is something I loved.
Grace's life as she knows it is falling apart and we get to see how she handles it. The choices she makes as she searches for the truth. I kind of see her as a girl who has lost her way. One who put all of her trust in her mother which is something I do. A mother is supposed to look out for you, teach you. One thing that really grabbed me, other than the mystery aspect, was the fact that she looks to the wilderness to help her. Y'all know I love to escape to the mountains…

April Reading Plans

As many of you know, I hate making TBR's. I never stick to them because I am very much a mood reader and I cannot predict my moods, try as I might. This isn't always the best for my blogging and I am trying to change it, but you know. So that being said, I have a few ideas for what I would like to try and read during the month of April.

The Fall of Grace by Amy Fellner Dominy I've actually already started this, but wasn't able to finish it in the month of March so on we go. Amy is such a kind human and I love a good puzzle. Especially if part of the story takes place in Arizona. I was stoked when she gave me a copy.
Midnight Sun by Trish Cook I actually didn't plan on reading this one. I was interested in the movie though. However, one of my coworkers decided that we should read it and see the movie together like she had a week before when we both read Simon Vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda. I am always down for more reader friends and could not say no. It's not bad so …

Diving Into Something New

Image
Expanding My Horizons
For those of you who don't know, let's be real you probably do by now, I work in a preschool. Well about a month or so ago we did a Scholastic book fair and I just couldn't help myself. There were so many cute books! So since I spent my money on them I've been reading them and yes, they count towards my reading goal. Since my reviews on these picture books are so short and all pretty much exactly the same, I thought I would just share which ones they are. Short and sweet.

I've purchased all of the books pictured above, but I've also been reading some review books that are not pictured. One that really got me was Me, My Dog, and a Sheep by Melissa Mullamphy. Her book is a true story about the love between her son and his dog as well as the strength they have. I cried a bunch and I cannot recommend it enough.

Next year I'm supposed to be leading a "book club" at the preschool and I am loving discovering books to read to these kids…

The Other Side of Lost ARC Review

Image
The Other Side of Lost by Jessi Kirby 5 Stars
The thing that initially interested me in The Other Side of Lost was the hiking aspect. I don't know how many of you know this, but I go up to the mountain to clear my head. I hike one trail more often than any other and I find a boulder and climb up high. I sit there. The silence of nature and the fresh air makes me calm, alive, happy even. So whenever I see a book that includes an adventure similar to those I enjoy, I want to read it immediately. The Other Side of Lost is a novel following Mari, a social media star who is just turning 18. Years ago her cousin, who shares the same birthday, and her planned a trip for the day they turned 18. Something amazing for them to experience together. Her cousin is no longer around and in a crisis of self, Mari decides to do it. Alone.
When I started the book I couldn't stand Mari. The way she saw the world irritated me. Especially when she complained about it. I couldn't help but roll my e…

Tucson Festival of Books 2018

Image
Once again, it's one of my favorite times of the year. The Tucson Festival of Books at the University of Arizona! It's a free two day festival filled with books, food, science, art, etc. There are so many booths it's hard to visit them all, try as I might.


Day one started with some wonderful humans and equally wonderful books. My day didn't start off perfect, I got stuck in a parking garage and ended up being late. I was headed to a panel when I noticed a line was already forming for Victoria Aveyard. I decided not to chance it and to just jump in and wait for an hour. Very worth it if you ask me. She is so kind! I had made a friend last year and spotted her one line over waiting for Holly Black so with her permission I joined her. I've never read a Holly Black book, but I have heard amazing things about her writing. I bought The Darkest Part of the Forrest just for this event and am so excited to see what everyone has been talking about. Have you ever met a person …

Blog Tour: Down and Across ARC Review

Image
Hello and welcome to my stop on the Down and Across blog tour! I'm super excited to share this book with y'all as well as my personal thoughts on it! How about we start with the basics?


About the Book Discover the secret to success in this incisively funny debut, for fans of John Corey Whaley, David Arnold, and Ned Vizzini!

"Quirky and charming, wise and unpredictable." --Khaled Hosseini, #1 
New York Times bestselling author of The Kite Runner  Scott Ferdowsi has a track record of quitting. Writing the Great American Novel? Three chapters. His summer internship? One week. His best friends know exactly what they want to do with the rest of their lives, but Scott can't commit to a breakfast cereal, let alone a passion. With college applications looming, Scott's parents pressure him to get serious about a career path like engineering or medicine. Desperate for help, he sneaks off to Washington, DC, to seek guidance from a famous professor who specializes in grit, th…

Beauty and the Beast Book Tag

Image
As I've mentioned so, so many times before Beauty and the Beast is my all time favorite Disney movie. It's the reason I love to read to begin with. So when I discovered this tag by Kristy at Kristy and the Cat Read I just knew I had to do it.

1. "Tale as Old as Time" - A popular theme, trope, or setting you never get tired of reading.
One setting that I absolutely never get sick of is boarding school. I am such a sucker for boarding school books. I'm a sucker for hate to love relationships as well.

2. Belle - A book you bought for its beautiful cover that's just as beautiful on the inside.
I bought The Promise of Stardust by Priscille Sibley strictly for its stunning cover. I didn't even read the synopsis. When I read it, it completely broke my heart in the best way. That book will always have a special place in my heart.

3. Beast - A book you didn't expect much from, but pleasantly surprised you.
I didn't expect much from This Is Where I Leave You by …